Cong, BSP, NPP and others file objections on final day as Panel receives nearly 700 representations – Jammu Kashmir Latest News | Tourism

Comm delineation to settle grievances prior to final report
BJP and NC leaders submit suggestions individually
Excelsior Correspondent
JAMMU, March 21: Nearly 700 representations have been made to the Boundary Commission by political parties, organizations and individuals in the last seven days of grievances and objections invited by the Panel after putting the report in the public domain on March 14. On the final day of filing objections today, the major political parties submitted their detailed representations to the Commission.
While the National Conference and the BJP, which were represented in the Commission with three and two associate members respectively in their capacity as Lok Sabha MPs from Jammu and Kashmir, had already submitted objections/suggestions to the draft report shared with them, some of their leaders filed objections. at the individual level. However, other major political parties, including Congress, BSP, NPP, etc., submitted their demands to the Group today.
The Commission will resolve complaints and objections by accepting or rejecting suggestions. Requests accepted by the Panel will reflect in its final report by May 6, the extended deadline for finalizing the recommendations.
In its comprehensive document sent to the Commission, the Congress requested to rename the assembly seat of Jammu East to Temple City, Bahu to Bawe Wali Mata constituency and Thanna Mandi to Shahdara Sharief. He said that people expected one more Lok Sabha seat, but the Group made a mistake in creating a Lok Sabha constituency by dividing two divisions (Anantnag-Poonch parliamentary seat). The Party urged the Commission to visit every district during its two-day visit to J&K on March 28-29.
Expressing concern over the voter gap in Assembly constituencies, the Congress pointed out that some seats are based on 30,000 and 50,000 votes while others have close to 2 lakh votes. He cited the names of Gurez who was based on 30,000 votes, Paddar who has 51,000 voters, Dooru who included 1.92 lakh voters and Surakote having 1.82 lakh votes.
Similarly, he said, some districts have an average of one lakh voters per seat while others have 1.3 lakh and 1.4 lakh. He demanded that all these discrepancies be corrected by the Commission in the final report.
NPP chairman and former minister Harshdev Singh said the NPP demanded three Lok Sabha seats each for the Jammu and Kashmir divisions. He added that Dudu and Jakhair Panchayats who were part of Chenani constituency were linked to Ramnagar siege without any logic. These two Panchayats were part of Chenani when it was the reserve seat of SC and now again they were clubbed with Ramnagar which is the reserve constituency, Singh said and called for the anomalies to be removed.
PASB Chairman Som Raj Majotra has made some thoughtful suggestions to the Boundary Commission. The suggestions concerned the constituencies of Kathua South, Kathua North, Ramgarh, Samba, Nagrota, Raipur Domana, RS Pura-Jammu South and Akhnoor.
Former Deputy Chief Minister and Congress Leader Tara Chand expressed concern about making the Khour Assembly constituency 150 kilometers in length by the Boundary Commission. He demanded that Maira Mandrian and Chowki Choura tehsils be clubbed with Akhnoor while Jourian should be added to the Khour segment.
BJP senior leader Chander Mohan Sharma demanded that the Jammu East Assembly segment be renamed Jammu Tawi, citing that Jammu is deeply associated with the Tawi River.
BJP associate members submitted a number of complaints and objections to the draft report, some of which were accepted while others were rejected. BJP member Jugal Kishore Sharma also submitted a dissenting note which, along with the dissenting note of three NC MPs, was attached to the draft report.
NC Provincial Chairman Rattan Lal Gupta said that since the party’s views have already been given to the Boundaries Commission by three Lok Sabha MPs from the party in their capacity as associate members of the Group, some leaders in individually submitted their objections/suggestions.
DDC President Ramban and Head of CN Dr Shamshad Shan in her representation to the Commission demanded the creation of Gool Sangaldan as a new assembly constituency and the unification of tehsil Pogal Paristan.
Leaders of the Apni party also filed complaints with the Commission.
The 18-page dissenting memo from the national conference given by associate members said the party disagreed with the Commission’s recommendations and questioned the panel’s very constitution pending the Court’s verdict Supreme Court on Jammu and Kashmir Reorganization Act.
The Commission headed by Justice (Retired) Ranjana Prakash Desai included Chief Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra Sharma and State Election Commissioner KK Sharma, while its five associate members are the Minister of State for Union in the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO), Dr. Jitendra Singh and Jugal Kishore Sharma, the two BJP Lok Sabha members from Jammu Division and Dr. Farooq Abdullah, Mohammad Akbar Lone and Hasnain Masoodi, the three Conference MPs national division of Kashmir.
The Commission has its mandate until May 6 and there it is likely to submit its final report on time.
The Panel was established on May 6, 2020 with a one-year mandate which was extended for another year on May 6, 2021. While its mandate was due to expire on May 6, 2022, it was granted a two-month extension. to complete the task.
Once the delimitation exercise is completed, the number of Assembly seats in Jammu and Kashmir will increase from 83 to 90.
Twenty-four Assembly seats remain vacant as they fall under Pakistani-occupied Jammu and Kashmir (PoJK).
While dividing Jammu and Kashmir into two Union Territories through the Reorganization Act, the Union Home Ministry had increased the number of seats in the Jammu and Kashmir Assembly. -Kashmir by seven, bringing the total number of seats to 114, of which 24 are reserved for the PoJK while elections will be held for 90 seats.
The former state of Jammu and Kashmir had 111 seats, with 24 reserved for the PoJK, while elections were held for 87 seats. With the creation of Ladakh as a Union Territory, four seats from the region were reduced and the Assembly was left with 83 seats. However, with a seven-seat increase, J&K UT will have a 90-seat Assembly. Two women deputies will be appointed to the Chamber, which was also the case before.
In the previous Assembly, Kashmir had 46 seats, Jammu 37 and Ladakh four.
The last delineation of Assembly constituencies took place in 1994-95 during the President’s reign when the seats of the former State Assembly were increased from 76 to 87. The seats of the Jammu region increased from 32 to 37, those of Kashmir from 42 to 46 and those of Ladakh from two to four. .